## GOVERNMENT NOTICES • GOEWERMENTSKENNISGEWINGS

## **DEPARTMENT OF BASIC EDUCATION**

NO. 3964 12 October 2023

## SOUTH AFRICAN SCHOOLS ACT, 1996 (ACT NO 84 of 1996)

## NATIONAL NORMS AND STANDARDS FOR SCHOOL FUNDING (NNSSF)

- I, Angelina Matsie Motshekga, Minister of Basic Education, hereby, in accordance with section 39(10) of the South African Schools Act, 1996 (Act No. 84 of 1996), publish the list per province, of schools that may not charge school fees.
- 2. The Members of the Executive Council (MECs) responsible for education in provinces have identified the specific schools in the province that may not charge school fees [that will be no-fee schools as contemplated in section 39(9) of the South African Schools Act, 1996] in 2024.
- 3. The list of schools per province with the details per school may be accessed as follows:

3.1 From the office of: Assistant Director: Financial Planning

Ms E Lubbe

Department of Basic Education

Private Bag X895

PRETORIA, 0001, Tel: (012) 357 4298;

Fax: (012) 323 9155; Email: lubbe.e@dbe.gov.za

3.2 From the Department of Basic Education's website, <a href="https://www.education.gov.za/Informationfor/ParentsandGuardians/SchoolFees.asp">https://www.education.gov.za/Informationfor/ParentsandGuardians/SchoolFees.asp</a> <a href="https://www.education.gov.za/Informationfor/ParentsandGuardians/SchoolFees.asp">https://www.education.gov.za/Informationfor/ParentsandGuardians/SchoolFees.asp</a>

4. All schools identified in the list must be notified by letter that the school is a no-fee school.

5. Specific questions regarding schools identified in the no fee schools list should be addressed to the MECs for Education in the provinces, at the following addresses:

Mr FD Fundile MEC: Education Eastern Cape Province Private Bag X0032 BISHO 5605 Tel. 040 608 4202/3 Fundile.gabe@ecdoe.gov.za	Mr M Mohale MEC: Education Free State Province PO Box 20565 BLOEMFONTEIN 9300 Tel. 051 404 8411/8079 magalefasr@edu.fs.gov.za	Mr M Chiloane MEC: Education Gauteng Province PO Box 7710 JOHANNESBURG 2000 Tel. 011 355 0909/0145 Thapelo.dlamini@gauteng.gov.za Phumzile.fungati@gauteng.gov.za
Ms MC Frazer MEC: Education KwaZulu-Natal Province Private Bag X9137 PIETERMARITZBURG 3200 Tel. 033 355 2450/1 mecpa@kzndoe.gov.za/ Zama.Mchunu2@kzndoe.gov.za	Ms M Leruli-Ramakhanya MEC: Education Limpopo Province Private Bag X9489 POLOKWANE 0700 Tel. 015 297 0013 MakwakwaMN@edu.Limpopo.gov.za	Mr B Majuba MEC: Education Mpumalanga Province Private Bag X11341 NELSPUIT 1200 Tel. 013 766 5555/3590 c.mbhalati@mpuedu.mpu.gov.za
Mr Z Monakali MEC: Education Northern Cape Province Private Bag X5029 KIMBERLEY 8300 Tel. 053 830 7160/7162 boutlwanyematshego@ncdoe.gov.za	Ms VN Motsumi MEC: Education North West Province Private Bag X2044 MMABATHO 2735 Tel. 018 388 2559 bsetswambung@nwpg.gov.za	Mr D Maynier MEC: Education Western Cape Province Private Bag X9144 CAPE TOWN 8000 Tel. 021 467 2523/6 edumin.edumin@westerncape.gov.za

MRS AM MOTSHEKGA, MP

Minister of Basic Education Date: 02 October 2023